The Tale of the Five

The Tale of the Five

"Good strong stuff with the right light touch." --Terry Pratchett

"Expands the limits of the swords and sorcery genre. Exciting, magical, intelligent." -- Publishers Weekly

A sorcerous swordsmith desperately searches for the Power that will make him whole. A prince who fled his kingdom and the throne to which he was born now seeks the courage to return and defy those who want him dead. A woman warrior scarred by her painful past stakes her future on the strange new life that comes to share her mind. An outcast dragon abandoned by his peers to a solitary fate is drawn into the heretofore-forbidden territory of the conflicts of humankind. And a fire elemental determined to find out about the peculiarities of being human discovers far more than it ever expected. Together these five will cross the Middle Kingdoms in pursuit of the single goal that binds them... discovering their destinies, and a world's.

The Tale of the Five presently consists of three critically-acclaimed volumes of mature fantasy fiction by Diane Duane: The Door Into Fire, The Door Into Shadow, and The Door Into Sunset. All three appear here in the author's preferred texts, updated and revised from the previous print editions.

Reader advisory: All three volumes contain adult / mature themes and situations set in a sexually diverse and inclusive culture.

  • Grid List
The Door Into Fire
$4.99 $2.50
Book 1 of The Tale of the Five "Good strong stuff with the right light touch." (Terry Pratchett) "Expands the...
The Door Into Shadow
$5.99 $3.00
Book 2 of the Tale of the Five "To my way of reckoning, this is an even stronger book than...
The Door Into Sunset
$6.99 $3.50
Book 3 of the Tale of the Five "The series as a whole seems destined to become one of the...